Eight teams for MHL Premier Division next year

Thursday, 05 January 2017 19:59

 It’s finally settled.

Eight teams will compete in the Premier Division of the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) next year.


This follows the confirmation by Maybank on their participation in the 2017 edition which starts on Jan 4. Maybank had kept the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) waiting for their confirmation. Earlier, there were fears Maybank would pull out of the league.

Besides Maybank, the other regulars competing are Tenaga Nasional, Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC), Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Terengganu. The three new entries are newly-promoted Division One champions SSTMI, TNB Thunderbolt and Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM). 

Said MHC chief executive officer K. Logan Raj: “The Premier Division will be played under the home and away format. 


“There are also eight teams in Division One, but it will be a one round-robin league. We expected to conclude the MHL by the end of February.”

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Read 3056 times

Upcoming Hockey Events

No events

Our Hockey Network