Thursday, 19 December 2013 20:14

Selangor won the National Under 21 title when they edged Perak 4-3 in a penalty shootout at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.


The two teams were forced into the shootout after the match ended 3-3 in regulation time.


The win for Selangor was all the more remarkable considering the fact that it was achieved with no artificial pitch in the state and credit must go to the likes of Dato Subahan Kamal, Dato Siva Sunder and P. kuganeson, tje three pillars of a Selangor Hockey who have thrived to make Selangor the kingpins of hockey once again.


Selangor has proven that with determination things can be done and it was their second national title having won the National Indoor U16 Tournament last month.


They also won the Division Two title of the Razak Cup to cap an outstanding year for the state.


"It was a team effort as everyone in Selangor HA has contributed in one way or another towards our success," said Kuganeson.


"We now have to work doubly hard to defend the titles."


Selangor were the early aggressors and took the game to the more fancied Perak side who were favourites for the title having ousted Kuala Lumpur in the semifinals.


And the efforts of the Selangor side were duly rewarded in the second minute when Nazirul Mubin Zabidi scored.


Selangor doubled the advantage in the 15th minute, this time Omar Hakim Ahmad Robangi scoring, his sixth of the tournament.


Perak were undeterred and reduced the deficit four minutes later when Harris Fadila Zulkifli converted a penalty corner.


Muhammad Azrin Annuar then put the silver state on level terms in the 25th minute.


It was Perak who took the lead in the 53rd minute when Akmal Tajuddin scored only for Selangot to draw level in the 61st minute via Mohd Haikal Zainal to make it 3-3.


Perak were awarded a penalty stroke in the 62nd minute and Harris Fadilla failed to find the mark as a Selangor keeper Shafie Shahrom pulled off a superb save.



FairPlay - Johor

Most Promising Player - Umar Hakim Ahmad Robangi ( Selangor )

Best Goalkeeper - Mohd Adib Fazri ( Penang )

Top Scorer - Mohd Rahim Iskandar ( Penang) 11 goals

Man of the Match ( Final ) - Mohd Hafuddin



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Read 1926 times

Upcoming Hockey Events

No events

Our Hockey Network